If I Could Go Back in Time…

If I Could Travel Back in Time, What Advice I Would Give Myself?

Time

I wish I could go back in time and advise myself to do some things differently. Is there advice I would give to myself if given this opportunity? Absolutely! Three tips I would tell myself are to save more money, take more risks, and pray more often.

Tip #1: Save More Money

I had no concept of saving or investing money when I was young. I spent the majority of the money I made on material things with little value. In fact, I spent money I did not have, without realizing that I had to pay it back someday. Did I delay instant gratification? Not a chance! Meanwhile, I sank further and further into debt. What advice would I give myself about money if I could go back in time?

I would tell myself to save at least ten percent of my net income. I would also invest another portion of my income so that my money could grow. Finally, I would tithe ten percent, and then spend the rest as needed. There is no doubt in my mind that following this strategy would have helped me manage my money a lot better than I did.

Tip #2: Take More Risks

I have always been a person who waits for things happen instead of making things happen. Why should I take a chance unless I know ahead of time that it will turn out in my favor? I am a person who says “I could have done it.” Maybe “I would have done it.” I know “I should have done it.” The bottom line is: I didn’t get it done! What advice would I give myself about taking risks if I could go back in time?

I would tell myself to break the chains of fear and self-doubt by taking more risks. I would allow myself to follow my dreams. I would take more chances. If taking a risk works in my favor, great! If it doesn’t, then there is a lesson to be learned. There is no doubt in my mind that my life would be better now if I took more risks in the past.

Tip#3: Pray More Often

I used to pray before meals, but that was just to bless the food. As I grew older, I would pray to bless the food and the hands that prepared it. Eventually, I would pray to bless the food, the hands that prepared it, and the nourishment it provided to my body. I rarely prayed about anything else, except for when I got in a serious jam that I could not get out of on my own. What advice would I give myself about prayer if I could go back in time?

I would tell myself to pray more often. I would pray to ask God for guidance, wisdom, and the ability to forgive others. I would pray to protect others and uplift them in their times of need. Most importantly, I would pray to give thanks. There is no doubt in my mind that prayer would have changed many things in my life.

What if I would have saved more money?

What if I would have taken more risks?

What if I would have prayed more often?

If I could go back in time…

About motivationfortheworld

Gary A. McAbee created Motivation for the World as the platform for his motivational speaking, writing, and blogging. The mission of Motivation for the World is to create a vast network of like-minded, service-oriented individuals who join together and work toward having a positive impact in our neighborhoods, communities, and society. He is the proud author of two self-help books: Wake Up! 42 Ways to Improve Black America Now! and Rise Up! 42 Additional Ways to Improve Black America Now!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If I Could Go Back in Time…

  1. ayesamson says:

    I am right there with you on tip#: 1. If I could go back 16 yrs ago I would have tucked away all my bonuses, raises, tax returns and paid for everything cash. I’m 36 now and have a good savings strategy but having that hindsight and head start would have been extremely nice. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

